top of page

Week 10 Presentation - Conflict

The marker project group were tasked with the penultimate presentation, centered around conflict. This is an interesting workplace and educational environment topic as conflict is unavoidable and there are many behavoural factors that contribute to the escalation of conflict. Overall the group presented quite well and had very good graphics that boosted the spoken content. From the information presented, conflict can arrise from change, personalitiy clashes, poor communication and emotional intelegence, this is a good analysis of triggers and the 'types of conflict makers' slide was very engaging, furthering and grouping the topics covered (however stigmatising it may be).

Comments:

  • Fantastic use of an ice-breaker, they told me that there was going to be a little skit at the beginning of the presentation so I was expecting it, however Alex's tantrum was so convincing that I honestly thought he was angry and not acting (that was until chairs started flying). This was very engaging, funny and thoroughly well thought out.

  • Good slide layout and use of graphics which help support the spoken presentation.

  • All presenters read directly off notes and were looking at a screen or book the whole time (not including Alex). This was a little disheartening as it made it seem like then content was researched but not learnt.

  • Unfortunately, there were no references to conflict or human behavioural theories/models which I felt was a missed opportunity, displaying a first level approach to topic research.

  • The group didn't highlight that conflict can also be a positive aspect of group work in the form of competition. This was highlighted in question time, making the topic of conflict feel overly depressing.

What I Will Take from the Presentation/What I have done as a Result of Hearing the Presentation:

While listening to the group speak, I could clearly identify with some negative and positive aspects of conflict. I am a person who is quite critical, ambitious, mildly outspoken, realistic and I always ask myself (or even others) is that really the best you can do? (It makes me sound like my parents), however I always do this out of respect to one another and I find this hugely respectful towards myself. I understand this can be intimidating however I personally feel it is the best way to evaluate one's performance especially in a competitive or 'positive conflict' scenario.

This presentation is highly applicable to the given project and I'll strive to make use of conflict resolution/mediation skills while carrying out work.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page